Euro Deli

Euro Deli presents a conundrum for me, because I hate the Plateau and its assorted hipsters, but I love visiting this little restaurant. I’m not sure what it is that has endeared me to the place, but I suspect that a lot of the charm I currently associate with the place has to do with the simple fact that this is where my husband and I met for the very first time.

Awww!

Euro Deli's stoop is a great place to people-watch or meet friends (photo by Flickr user Prof-B)

Euro Deli's stoop is a great place to people-watch or meet friends (photo by Flickr user Prof-B)

The short version of the story is that we “met” on an Internet dating site, agreed to go for coffee, and met up on the little stoop outside—a good general meeting place for people who’ve never been here before, especially since the first time I was supposed to meet a friend here, I ended up walking right past it about four times. I used to like meeting people at Euro Deli because it wasn’t one of my usual hangouts, so if the situation got weird, they wouldn’t be able to stalk me there. Plus it’s a good place to meet friends who live in the area and refuse to leave their Plateau bubble.

Also in its favour is the fact that the coffee is always good, and their espresso comes from a real machine (rather than a push-button Starfucks machine), plus they serve food in case you stick around long enough to get hungry.

The fugly painting that decorates Euro Deli's interior (photo by Flickr user Eliza_Tasbihi)

The fugly painting that decorates Euro Deli's interior (photo by Flickr user Eliza_Tasbihi)

The vibe of the resto is definitely European (um, duh? it’s called EURO Deli!), with a slightly standoffish attitude from the people behind the counter (it always seems to take a while to get their attention so you can order), but quick service and a hot and tasty meal for not a lot of dough. They serve up pizza, homemade soups, calzones, various pastas and sauces, as well as a few Italian desserts like tiramisu and tartuffo. Their coffee is served with a weird little chocolate mint ball thingamajig, which I once actually put in the coffee (STOP! Don’t do it!), but which I presume is meant for after your drink, to ease the funk of coffeemouth. If you don’t like coffee or have already reached your limit for the day, they’ve also got San Pellegrino and Brio to continue the European flair.

In the case of my husband and I on our first date, we met up for coffee at Euro Deli, stayed forever just chatting and getting to know each other, then ambled up the street for harder drinks at Barfly. This lead to dinner at his place and, well, the rest is history. So, kids, if you want to meet the man of your dreams? My recommendation is to meet him on the steps of Euro Deli.

ADDRESS: 3619 St-Laurent
METRO: Saint-Laurent
PHONE: (514) 843-7853
HOURS: Sun-Wed 8:30 AM-2AM, Thurs-Sat 8:30AM-4AM

Comments are closed.