B&M Restaurant

Outside of the B&M Somerled location (photo: B&M)

Outside of the B&M Somerled location (photo: B&M)

Last weekend, my best friend from high school came to town for a conference, and we got to catch up a bit. The previous weekend, my husband and I had decided to try someplace new for brunch, and we had decided on B&M after perusing his ragged copy of Cheap Thrills Montreal (which is rather misleadingly named, as it’s entirely a cheap eats book, and has absolutely nothing to do with the Cheap Thrills record shop). We were so impressed with B&M after that weekend that we were like, “OMG, we have to take her there!”

So we did!

The Cheap Thrills guidebook is spot-on in their assessment of B&M, describing it as “an NDG hot spot with a vast menu, large portions, and good food.” The book says that while they’re on the high end of cheapness, they’re totally worth it, and I would have to agree. The first time we went, I ordered their sun-dried tomato, goat cheese and avocado omelette ($11.95) and my husband had the London steak and 2 eggs ($9.25). The omelette was literally the largest I have ever seen (I ended up giving about half of it to my husband), along with a large portion of hash browns. I ravenously devoured it, oohing and ahhing over the amount of avocado (there must have been at least half an avocado in there), and the general deliciousness of the taste sensation. My husband was too busy eating to comment on his steak, which I took as a good sign. He offered me a bite, and later admitted he wasn’t going to because it was too tasty to want to share it.

When we went with my friend, I got the London steak myself, she got the avocado/goat cheese/sun-dried tomato omelette after my rave review, and my husband tried the broccoli and cheese omelette ($9.95), which had a choice of cheeses. He opted for Swiss, and said it could’ve used a bit of salt. I think B&M actually leaves the salt out entirely, as I had thought the same thing about my omelette the first time, but since I am averse to adding salt to my meals, I had just eaten it as-is. Just something to think about.

B&M is now our new favourite breakfast spot, with Café Orange a close second. Since the place tends to get busy around noon, you should either come early or stop by a bit later (like 2-ish) to avoid the rush. In the summertime they’ve got a nice little terrace out front, and the dining room is a good place to people-watch. Specials are listed on a chalkboard on the right side of the restaurant, and they serve all meals if you’re in the mood for a nice dinner, which I think we will have to try out one of these days. B&M also has a take-out restaurant if you’re in the mood for pizza and such, located on Sherbrooke; note that the Somerled location is the only one that serves breakfast.

ADDRESS: Dining room – 6200 Somerled; Take-out, express pick-up, and delivery – 5800 Sherbrooke West (both in NDG)
METRO:
Villa-Maria and 103 bus, or Vendôme and 105 bus, respectively
HOURS: Somerled location – Mon-Thurs 7AM-10PM, Fri 7AM-11PM, Sat 9AM-11PM, Sun 9AM-10PM; 5800 Sherbrooke location – 11AM-2AM daily
PHONE: Delivery 514-484-3717 or 514-484-5949
WEBSITE: bmrestaurant.com

Comments are closed.