Feast, Famine and the SAQ

eggplant

Delicious recipe and photo courtesy of Tchin Tchin

As a freelance writer, I go through periods of feast and famine. Currently, I’m in famine mode, so I haven’t been dining out at any places I could review for Shoestring Montreal. I have, however, been picking up various free publications such as the SAQ‘s Tchin Tchin Magazine, which boasts some interesting Italian-themed recipes to go with the Italian wine reviews that make up the bulk of the current issue.

I haven’t had a chance to try any of them yet (that whole famine thing being a drain on my finances for outlandish recipes), but I’m dying to try both their Osso Bucco recipe (yes, I eat baby cows because I’m an evil monster who enjoys the taste of tender baby flesh) and the unusual Eggplant Cannelloni, where pasta is replaced by eggplant. Is it just me, or does this sound deliciously low-carb?

Here’s the latter, in case you’d like to try it for yourself and let me know how it turns out:

EGGPLANT CANNELLONI A LA SAQ
(serves 4)

Ingredients:

  • 8 slices eggplant (cut lengthwise from a large eggplant), about 1/4 inch thick
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 cups fresh spinach, finely chopped
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 egg yolk
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cups store-bought tomato sauce (aw, c’mon, make yer own!)
  • 1 1/2 cups mozzarella cheese, grated
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees (F).
  2. In a skillet, brown an eggplant slice in a little oil. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer to a paper towel to drain. Repeat with the rest of the eggplant slices.
  3. In a bowl, combine spinach, ricotta, Parmesan, garlic, egg yolk and nutmeg. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Spread this mixture onto the eggplant slices. Roll up each slice and place in a casserole dish (like, really, you want me to put this messy cannelloni on a baking sheet? I think not!).
  5. Cover the eggplant cannelloni with the tomato sauce and sprinkle with the mozzarella. Bake for 30 minutes.

I kind of doubt this would actually serve 4 people, as the recipe claims, but you can always make more, right? Oh, and the SAQ suggests pairing this with a Campolieti ($17.35) or Velletri Riserva ($14.90) if you’ve got the cash to spare.

semifreddo

For dessert, who wants to whip me up a nice Lemon Semifreddo?

Comments are closed.