Save your money: cook at home!

Spaghetti squash

We don’t have tons of money to throw around, so while I do love to eat out at the restos I’ve been profiling here, I most often cook dinners at home for the hubby and me. One of my favourite low-carb recipes is for spaghetti squash, which I’ve posted at Associated Content. It’s delicious, nutritious, good for vegetarians and meat-eaters alike, and not hard at all to make–especially if you’ve got a microwave.

Chicken Parmigiana

Some of my favourite things to cook are Italian recipes, as they’re usually really easy to make. Chicken Parmigiana, for instance, is super quick and simple to put together in a pinch. All you have to do is get some chicken breasts, bread crumbs and an egg. Break the egg into a dish and whisk it until it’s good and whipped. Pour enough bread crumbs onto a plate to coat the chicken breasts you’ve got. Dip the chicken into the egg, then the breadcrumbs, coating them lightly, and place the coated breasts into a baking dish. Bake them for 45 minutes to an hour at 350 degrees (F), then pour a can of crushed tomatoes over them and add some mozzarella (or cheddar) cheese. Bake for another 15 to 20 minutes and you’re ready to eat!

Serve it over pasta if you like (or with the spaghetti squash), or by itself. I’m making some right now. YUM!

Comments are closed.